Mollie Davis Scholarship Winners 2019

The 2019 Mollie Davis scholarship winners.

Forty-four Yakima County students were given Mollie Davis scholarships last week at the Yakima Convention Center.

Students pursuing bachelor’s degrees will receive $7,500, while students enrolled in a two-year program to complete an associate degree receive $3,500. Scholarships are renewable by maintaining a 2.75 GPA and full-time enrollment. A student entering college as a freshman has the opportunity to receive a total of $30,000 in scholarship funds, according to a news release.

In December 2008, Mary Monroe “Mollie” Davis left an educational bequest of $20 million to benefit residents of Yakima County through a scholarship program in her name to be administered by the Yakima Rotary Trust.

Scholarships are awarded based on need, academic performance, leadership characteristics and answers to essay questions.

This year’s recipients are:

Jarely Aragon-Ramirez, public relations, Eisenhower High School; Linda Barragan, biology, Wapato High School; Debbi Bonilla, psychology, Sunnyside High School; Andrea Ceja, business administration, Toppenish High School; Jadah Chavez, public health, Davis High School; Rachel Christensen, biomedical research, Eisenhower; Nora Cisneros Toscano, Sunnyside High School; Olivia Crawford, teacher education, West Chestnut Academy; McKenna Cruz, instrumentation and industrial automation, Granger High School; Koto Durkee, chemical engineering, Davis; Alyssa Figueroa, pre-medicine, Eisenhower; Karina Flores-Camacho, industrial engineering, Wapato High School; Luis Garcia, nursing, Granger High School; Rebekah Gomez, biology, Sunnyside High School; Estephany Gonzalez, American ethnic studies, Sunnyside High School; Keely Guisinger, psychology, Granger High School;

Andrea Hart, nursing, Mount Baker High School (from Selah); Eyleen Hurtado, criminal justice, Eisenhower; Anthony Krueger, English, Eisenhower; Carson Loveless, engineering, West Valley High School; Emily McDougall, film, home-school; April McNeil, Adriana Morfin, English and psychology, Toppenish High School; Aiden Parker, dietetics, Selah High School; Anthony Perez, chemistry, Davis; Dantzel Petersen, international relations, Green Canyon High School (from Moxee); Sandra Rabadan, mathematics, Toppenish High School; Edith Rangel, nursing, Sunnyside High School; Neida Regis, nursing, Toppenish High School;

Araceli Rios Regis, social work, Toppenish High School; Daisy Rivera Acevedo, biology/pre-dental, Davis High School; Denise Rivera Acevedo, dental, Davis High School; Gabriela Ruiz, forensic chemistry, Davis High School; Hipolito Salazar, philosophy, Toppenish High School; Marinna Sanchez, criminal justice, Eisenhower High School; Jocelyn Santacruz, law, society and justice, Toppenish High School; Isamar Solorio, education, Granger High School; Joshua Swynenburg, Russian language and international studies, Sunnyside High School; David Torres, chemistry/engineering, Sunnyside High School; Carlos Trejo, aerospace engineering, Wapato High School; Noe Vargas Fuentes, premedicine, Davis High School; Kira Veselka, international business, West Valley; Skylar Worley, biology, Eisenhower; and Mercedes Zavala, psychology, Sunnyside High School.

The process of choosing the recipients involves all three Yakima Rotary clubs, as well as the Toppenish, Grandview and Sunnyside Rotary clubs.