Green Valley 4-H member Darrin Vander Meulen works in the cow barn during the Yakima Valley Fair on Friday, Aug. 9, 2019 in Grandview, Wash. 

Yakima County 4-H leaders, members, volunteers and 4-H sponsors were recognized for their accomplishments during the past year during a luncheon this fall hosted by Lower Naches Grange.

The Yakima County Leader of the Year plaque was awarded to Ilene Bushnell for her support with the 4-H Sewing projects.

Outstanding First Year 4-H Club went to Ring Raiders 4-H Club Leader Kyla Lundberg, Yakima.

Awards for community service were presented to the following 4-H clubs:

  • Toppenish Rotary Award: For agriculture first place awarded to Selah 4-H Club, Selah, Leader Jaime LeCuyer and second place awarded to Ahtanum Livestock, Leader Janet Boucher, Yakima. The home economics first place awarded to Harrah Humdingers, Harrah, led by co-leaders Barbara Harrer and Katie Newman and second place awarded to Country Bunch, Yakima, Leader Ilene Bushnell.
  • The Inez Walter Perpetual Trophy was awarded to Sagebrush Riders 4-H Club, Selah, 4-H leader Lynette Haller.
  • Lew Evans Memorial Trophy: First place to Harrah Humdingers 4-H Club, Harrah led by co-leaders Barbara Harrer and Katie Newman.
  • Public presentation trophies were awarded to Seniors — 1st place to Madeleine St. Hilaire, White Swan, 2nd place to Natalie Dick/Nadya Espindola-Ramirez, Harrah; Intermediates — 1st place to Jared Sheehan, Sunnyside; 2nd place to Claire Sheehan, Sunnyside; Juniors — 1st place to Andrew Sheehan, Sunnyside and 2nd place to Emily Dick/Angela Espindola-Ramirez, Harrah.
  • “I Dare You” awards for the most well rounded 4-Hers were Trenton Jones, Yakima, Kassidey Brownlee, Yakima, Kaycie Leslie, Yakima, Madeleine St. Hilaire, White Swan.
  • The Washington State Grange and Honorary 4-H Leaders’ Council sponsored Clover Leaf Awards for 4-H volunteer leadership for: five years: Lisa Aguilar, Sunnyside, Callie Jane Bailey, Toppenish, Heather Irvine-Porter, Yakima, Keith Kulhavy, Jr., Zillah, Jim Oliphant, Yakima, Jennifer Rand, Sunnyside; 10 years: Jennifer Jones, Yakima, Lisa Monson, Tieton, Aaron Prins, Mabton, Brenda Prins, Mabton; 15 years: Ilene Bushnell, Yakima, Marilyn Waddington, Brownstown; 25 years: Janet Boucher, Yakima; 45 years: Diane Jones, Yakima.
  • Dennis West Horse Judging was awarded to Senior — Hannah Grace Koffler, Naches. Intermediate to Brandon Gossett, Selah, and Faith Koffler, Naches and Junior to Madison Morgan, Yakima. The Dairy Judging certificates were awarded to Senior member Melissa Alberti, Outlook, Intermediate member Carson Smeenk, Sunnyside and Claire Sheehan, Sunnyside, and Junior member to Andrew Sheehan, Sunnyside. The Livestock Judging certificates were awarded to Senior Hailey Schlosser, Sunnyside, Intermediate member Ella Andrews, Selah, and Junior member Rylee O’Neal, Tieton.
  • Service leader awards were awarded to Art Ries for 33 years, Willard Mears for 40 years, Virginia Wolverton for 52 years, and Catherine Mears for 56 years.
  • Other special awards: The 4-H Impact award went to Amy Boyle, Selah for the most recorded volunteer hours.
  • This year’s certificates of appreciation were presented by 4-H leaders to the following local business and individuals: Buena Grange, Buena; Maryiva Carpenter, Granger; Central Washington Junior Livestock Show, Toppenish; Especially Western, Union Gap; Fruitvale Grange, Yakima; Harrah American Legion, Harrah; Inaba Farms, Wapato; Joann Fabric, Yakima; Selah Heights Grange, Selah; Yakama Forest Products, White Swan; Foundation for the Yakima Valley Fair & Rodeo, Grandview; Long Ranch, Gary and Nancy Long, Naches; Virgil Gamache Farms Inc., Toppenish; Conover Insurance Services in Memorian Mr. Jefferey Van Gohren, Yakima; Tractor Supply Co., Selah; Gary New; and Valley Septic, Yakima.

Pacific Power and the Honorary 4-H Leaders’ Council sponsored this year’s luncheon.