Election vote

Yakima, Wash. – A Yakima native active in the local soccer community will seek a spot in the Yakima City Council.

Kenton Gartrell has filed to run for the open District 1 Yakima City Council seat held by Dulce Gutierrez. Gutierrez said earlier this month she would not run for re-election.

Gartrell works for the Yakima Youth Soccer Association as its facilities administrator and adult league coordinator. Gartrell said that his anger over several issues, including the city’s push for the Yakima Central Plaza and its budgeting practices, prompted him to get more involved. What pushed him to run for office is recent efforts by the Yakima City Council members to censure Councilwoman Kay Funk by stripping her committee assignments.

“That’s probably the one thing that probably 95 percent of the people around (Yakima) disagree with,” he said.

Liz Hallock and Soneya Lund, who already announced plans to run for office, filed for the District 5 seat held by Kathy Coffey. Coffey said she will not run for re-election. Patricia Byers, who also previously announced, filed for the District 3 seat held by Carmen Méndez. Méndez has not stated whether she will run for re-election.

Holly Cousens filed for re-election for her District 7 seat. 

Filing started today and will continue through Friday at the Yakima County Auditor's Office. More than 100 seats, including in city councils and school districts, are up for election. The primary is Aug. 6, with the general election on Nov. 5.

City of Wapato

No one has yet filed for any of the open seats in the Wapato City Council. The mayoral position is open as are six of the seven City Council seats, due to most of the council being appointed not elected.

Mayor Dora Alvarez-Roa also was appointed to her position during a controversial Sept. 4 meeting that two separate lawsuits allege violated the state’s Open Public Meetings Act. Council members Chuck Stephens, Joel Torres, Barbara Hilario, Irasema Gonzalez Cantu and Brinda Quintanilla-Bautista also were appointed last year. District 7 Councilman Keith Workman’s position is also open.

City of Grandview

Grandview Mayor Gloria Mendoza, who was appointed to the position late last year when Norm Childress was elected as Yakima County commissioner, has filed to retain her seat. David Diaz, Diana R. Jennings and Bill Moore filed for council.

City of Selah

Kevin Wickenhagen, Jeremy Burke, John Tierney, Roger Bell and Russell Carlson filed for re-election. Buffy Ibach filed to challenge Tierney for the Position 4 seat while Crispin Garza will challenge Carlson in Position 7 seat. Dave Kearby filed to run for a Position 6 seat currently held by Diane Underwood.

Other city council and school district filings

City of Granger: Mayor, Jose Trevino; Position 4, Juan G. Isiordia

Town of Harrah: Position 4, Avelina Garcia

City of Sunnyside: Position 7. Mike Kennard

City of Tieton: Position 4,  Amy Oberrender

City of Toppenish: Position 7, Loren O. Belton

City of Union Gap: Position 4, Jack Galloway; Position 5, David O. Hansen

Yakima School District: Position 5, Martha Rice

Naches Valley School District: District 1, Marcie Carrell; District 4, Patti Hyatt

Selah School District: District 1, Sarah Michael

Mabton School District: District 1, James Adams; District 2, Wendy Morrow

Sunnyside School District: District 1, Rocky J. Simmons; District 4, Sandra Linde; District 5, Dylan Gardner

Toppenish School District: District 1, Clara R. Jimenez

Granger School District: Position 1 At-Large, Ron Fleming

Zillah School District: District 3, Sandra Adams; District 4: Jeff Brady

Wapato School District: District 2, Sarah K. Divina; District 3, Maria AR Erickson; District 4, Alan B. Taylor; District 5, John Francisco.

Mt. Adams School District: District 1, Larry J. Garcia; District 2, Joseph Larez

Reach Mai Hoang at maihoang@yakimaherald.com or Twitter @maiphoang