Alex Ramirez, left, and Kit Hawver, right, count ballots for the Sunnyside City Council Position 5 race between Julia Hart and Mike Farmer on Thursday, Dec. 5, 2019 in the Yakima County Election Processing Center in the Yakima County Courthouse in Yakima, Wash.

Recounts in three city council races didn't change the results Thursday, with Mike Farmer elected in Sunnyside, David Hansen in Union Gap and Frances Ayres in Wapato.

Candidates in the three races were within one or two votes of each other, triggering a mandatory recount under state law. A manual recount, where workers inspect the ballots, happens when the margin is less than 150 votes and less than a quarter of a percent. A coin toss determines winners in the event of a tie.

County elections staff didn’t have to resort to chance. The morning's recounts were identical to general election results, with Mike Farmer leading incumbent Julia Hart in Sunnyside, 539-538; with David Hansen leading incumbent David Matson in Union Gap, 308-306; and Frances Ayres leading Tony Guzman in Wapato, 163-162.

County election staff will certify the results at 3 p.m., declaring Farmer, Hansen, and Ayres as the races’ official winners.


This story will be updated.