SEATTLE — As expected, Sounders FC signed midfielder Brad Evans to a multiyear contract, the club announced Wednesday.

Evans, 28, has been with the Sounders since 2009, ranking third in games played. He is one of only four players to make more than 100 appearances for the Sounders. He has been capped 16 times by the U.S. National Team.

“Re-signing Brad was a major priority for us,” Sounders co-owner and general manager Adrian Hanauer said in a release. “He has become a leader in the locker room and is a versatile player on the field. Brad exhibits the commitment, values and spirit of playing for the Sounders FC badge.”

Evans scored four goals and recorded a career-high five assists last season.

“My goal was to stay in Seattle, and I’m very excited to continue my career here,” Evans said in the release. “It’s always an honor to play for this city and these fans.”

Evans has made 10 appearances for the national team in 2013.

Evans played two seasons for the Columbus Crew before being selected by the Sounders in the 2008 expansion draft. Evans played at UC Irvine and was taken by Columbus with the 15th pick of the 2007 MLS SuperDraft.

Sounders most valuable, profitable team in MLS: According to Forbes, the Sounders are the most valuable and most profitable team in MLS.

The Sounders were valued at $175 million, according to the Forbes report released Wednesday. The second-most valuable team was the Los Angeles Galaxy, at $170 million. Portland was next, at $141 million.

According to Forbes, 10 of 19 MLS teams made a profit this year, led by the Sounders. Seattle had an operating income of $18.2 million, according to Forbes. Second-best were the Timbers, at $9.4 million.

Yedlin, Neagle finalists for awards: Sounders FC’s DeAndre Yedlin is a finalist for MLS rookie of the year and Lamar Neagle is a finalist for comeback player of the year, the league announced Wednesday.

The rookie of the year is scheduled to be announced Monday, the comeback player of the year on Dec. 2. The final awards, including league MVP, will be named on Dec. 5.