WALLA WALLA — Travis Turner went 4 for 4 with two doubles and three RBI to help the Yakima Valley Peppers beat Olympia 9-1 in the Junior Legion state tournament on Sunday.

Kyle Dexter and Connor Davis both pitched for the Peppers, giving up one earned run while striking out 10 combined.

Noah Minnick went 2 for 3 with two RBI and Chase Wells went 2 for 3 with two runs scored and an RBI for Yakima Valley.

Also Sunday, Eastlake defeated the Yakima Junior Beetles 16-1.

Darin Wilkens had a sacrifice fly for the Junior Beetles, driving in Jacob Haas for the lone run.

The Peppers will play the Junior Beetles today at noon in a loser-out game.

Yakima Valley Peppers 9, Olympia 1 (YVP: Kyle Dexter and Connor Davis 1 ER, 10 K; Travis Turner 4-4, 2 2b, run, 3 RBI; Noah Minnick 2-3, run, 2 RBI; Chase Wells 2-3, 2 runs, RBI).

Eastlake 16, Yakima Junior Beetles 1 (YJB: Brett Williams 1-2; Jacob Mortensen 1-2; Max Strain 2-3, 2b; Jacob Haas 1-1, 2b, run; Darin Wilkens RBI).


Allen earns first win

Cody Allen scored his first career main-event victory in the Hornet division on Saturday night at Yakima Speedway.

Allen, the 14-year-old son of Pure Stock driver Rob Allen, started last in the main event after he qualified with the fastest time in the inverted-field event.

Cody Allen took the lead on the 10th lap to fend off Bobby Trujillo and Daniel Morfin.

Darrell Tidrick earned victories in the Late Model Sportsman and Bump to Pass classifications.

Mike Valcich (Mini Stocks), Jack Anderson (Pure Stocks) and Rich Peters Jr. (Hobby Sportsman) also won earned main-event wins.

Hornets — Fast Time: Cody Allen (17.347 seconds). B Dash: Andy Stewart, John Fortenberry, Eric Coble, Tim Edris, Gary Carpenter. A Dash: Paul Townsend, Bobby A. Trujillo, James Norman, Allen, Daniel Morfin. Main Event: Cody Allen, Bobby A Trujillo, Daniel Morfin, Jeff Ball, Paul Townsend, Gary Carpenter, Eric Coble, John Fortenberry, Andy Stewart, James Norman.

Bump To Pass — Fast Time: Josh Aguirre (16.849). B Dash: Todd Nunn, Andy Aper, Josh Reiners, Tacoda Rojas. A Dash: Julie McAlpin, Kellie Zacharias, Joe Stevens. Main Event: Darrell Tidrick, Julie McAlpin, Joe Stevens, Todd Nunn, Kellie Zacharias, Josh Reiners, Andy Aper, Tacoda Rojas

Mini Stocks — Fast Time: Mike Valcich (24.782). B Dash: Ryan Scott, Josh Reiners, Owen Berglund. A Dash: Mike Valcich, Joshua Henne, Josh Parmentier. Main Event: Mike Valcich, Joshua Henne, Josh Parmentier, Ryan Scott, Owen Berglund, Josh Reiners.

Pure Stocks — Fast Time: Rob Allen (23.854). B Dash: Greg Stevenson, Mike Denton, Derek Raptcheff. A Dash: Jack Anderson, Chris Marang, Rob Allen. Main Event: Jack Anderson, Mike Denton, Chris Marang, Greg Stevenson, Derek Raptcheff, Rob Allen.

Hobby Sportsman — Fast Time: Buck Noel Jr (23.286). B Dash: Cody Denton, Morgan Morrison, Trever Flora, Larry Norman Jr, Josh Reeves. A Dash: Buck Noel Jr, Kyler Conduff, Chris Morrison, Randy Hitchcock, Rich Peters. Main Event: Rich Peters, Kyler Conduff, Buck Noel Jr, Chris Morrison, Randy Hitchcock, Trever Flora, Larry Norman Jr, Don Klang, Cody Denton, Morgan Morrison, Josh Reeves.

Late Model Sportsman — Fast Time: Darrell Tidrick (Track Record 19.967). Dash: Cody Walker, Randy Marshall Jr, Terry Cook, Tim Breshears, Darrell Tidrick. Main Event: Darrell Tidrick, Randy Marshall Jr, Cody Walker, Terry Cook, Tim Breshears

Renegade Raceway

Friday’s results

Street Legal: 1, Jim Mitchell (13.93 ET, 95.92 mph); 2, Jennifer McKenna (13.00 ET, 111.64 mph)

Mopar: 1, Roy Scroggins; 2, Dave Denning

Bike/Sled: 1, Terry Holloway (10.35 ET, 114.43 mph); 2, Tami Poole (12.49 ET, 104.52 mph)

Trophy Class: 1, Denise Jarnecke (9.06 ET, 148.66 mph); 2, Mike Conn (9.06 ET, 146.84 mph)

Saturday’s results

Super Pro: 1, Tommy Burke (7.64 ET, 173.14 mph); 2, Ron Carlquist (9.19 ET, 147.63 mph)

Pro: 1, Mike Merk (11.09 ET, 115.01 mph); 2, Phil Fluiatt (10.50 ET, 128.90 mph)

Sportsman: 1, Kurtis Asbury (11.94 ET, 113.96 mph); 2, Jim Mortenson (12.05 ET, 112.93 mph)