Erica DeMond of Selah has been placed on the Cornell University dean’s list for spring semester.

Michael Woodkey of Yakima, a senior majoring in engineering, physics and math at Whitworth University, was selected for the Whitworth Summer Science Undergraduate Research Fellowship. He will work on the project, “Computational Simulation of Plasma Propulsion Systems for Interplanetary Spacecraft.”


Five local students were awarded scholarships May 21 in the 2014 Sunrise Rotary speech contest. The contest is open every spring to local high school seniors who are planning to attend a college or university. This year’s winners are:

Naches Valley High School: Andrew Brewington, first place $2,000; David Whitmore, second place, $1,500; Justin Warner, third place, $1,000; Daniel Whitmore, third place, $1,000.

Davis High School: Daniel Catton, third place, $1,000.

The Central Washington Catholic Foundation has awarded scholarships to three area students.

Eisenhower High School graduate Andrew McCarthy won the 2014 Mary Ellen Chott-Mahre Scholarship worth about $5,000. He plans to study business at Gonzaga University.

Davis High School graduate Jennifer Morales Mata was awarded the John Rodriguez-Kranz Scholarship worth $1,000. She plans to attend the University of Washington and would like to become a high school math teacher,

Emma Patello, a Hanford High School graduate and current student at Carroll College in Helena, Mont., was awarded the group’s new scholarship, the Celebration of Faith Scholarship worth $1,000. Her goal is to become a physician, specializing in pediatrics or gynecology.

The Yakima School of Karate has awarded $1,000 college scholarships to Selah High School graduate Kayla Schoonhoven, who will be attending Cornish College of the Arts in Seattle, and Rachel Simmons, a Yakima Valley Community College Running Start and home-school graduate, who will be attending Florida College in Temple Terrace, Fla.

Dordt College in Sioux Center, Iowa, has awarded the following scholarships:

Trevor Wagenaar of Sunnyside, the Rooster Booster scholarship.

Marisa Broersma of Sunnyside, the Vander Haag Study Abroad scholarship.

Matthew Moore of Outlook, the Egbert Meyer Memorial Founders scholarship.

Grace den Hoed of Grandview, the Ralph and Cornelia Gritters Business scholarship.

Matthew De Groot of Sunnyside the Vermeer Foundation Engineering scholarship.

The Narcissa Whitman Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, recently recognized 27 area students for the DAR Good Citizens Program and Scholarship Contest at an awards ceremony held in Yakima. Some of thoses students also entered the American Revolution essay contest. The winner, Alice Hiemstra of Zillah High School was awarded $500 from the chapter. Her entry will go on to compete at the state level.

The honored students are:

Daniel Catton, A.C. Davis; Kayli Berk, Bickleton; Alexandria Gray, Cle-Elum-Roslyn; Samuel Lopez, Compass; Kate Monteith, East Valley; Randi Jo Tate, Easton; John Feltrup, Eisenhower; Janie Aguilera, Granger; Timothy Lambert, Klickitat; Julie Weddle, Lyle; Marlie Reinmuth, Naches Valley; Selena Valencia, Naches Valley Virtual Academy; Abigail Stutzman, Prosser; Anne Miller, Riverside Christian; Brianna Dampier, Selah Academy; Kayla Schoonhoven, Selah; Derek Walksnice, Stanton Academy; Danika Wagenaar, Sunnyside Christian; Jasmine Gonzalez, Sunnyside; Haley Breckel-Lindelof, Thorp; Anthony Perez, Toppenish; Yuliana Flores, Wapato; Brodie Ford, Wellpinit; Megan Atkinson, West Valley; Ruthann “Mariah” Hicks, Yakama Nation Tribal School; Alice Hiemstra, Zillah.


Andria Hillman, a 2000 graduate of West Valley High School, earned a master of science in nursing degree, with a certification and specialization in anesthesia, from Duke University.