The following Yakima Valley students graduated from Perry Technical Institute on Feb. 28.

Harrah: Aaron Castilleja, Electrical Technology.

Naches: Joshua Mitchell, Electrical Technology.

Prosser: Jesus Soto, Electrical Technology.

Selah: Chelsea Sylvanus, Instrumentation & Industrial Automation Technology.

Sunnyside: Isaias Ramirez, Instrumentation & Industrial Automation Technology.

Tieton: Jonathan Mercado, Electrical Technology.

Toppenish: Juan Suarez, Electrical Technology.

Yakima: Stephen Boynton, Nicholas Carr, Patrick Magana, Matt Patnode, Matt Ramirez, Omar Ramirez and Jason Schuler, Electrical Technology; and Cody Larsen, Instrumentation & Industrial Automation Technology.


Two East Valley High School students have received national honors. Anna Fallstrom has been named a Commended Student in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program, making her among the top 5 percent of those students who took the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Also, John Clinton Olivas has been recognized by the National Hispanic Recognition Program, which recognizes academically outstanding Hispanic high school students.